Tell me about Law/Human Rights/International Development Careers

I have a B.A. in Spanish.

I have struggled for years over what to do with my life.

As an undergraduate, I studied everything from Creative Writing to Philosophy before settling on Spanish. During my final year I co-authored a social psychology meta-analysis, volunteered as a teacher of ESL, took a STATS course, and wrote a Spanish research paper on NAFTA’s impact on Mexican economy.

I love studying immigration. I love speaking to people in Spanish. I love volunteering. I am raptly fascinated by discussions of U.S. foreign policy and its impact on Mexico, and Mexican economy, and emigration in Mexico, and immigration here. I spent two months in Mexico asking so many questions, I was accused of being a spy. Man, I just eat that stuff up. The reason I like to study it, is because ideally, I’d like to find a solution, and, you know, save the world.

So I was all set to apply to graduate school for a dual Masters in Social Work: Latinos/Masters in Liberal Studies: Community Interpretation, when my Step-mother-in-law looked and me suspiciously and said, ‘‘I don’t think you’re certain that’s what you want to do with your life.’’

‘‘Of course not,’’ says I, ‘‘My whole life is one perpetual painful experience of not knowing what I want to do with my life. It’s maddening.’’

‘‘You can do absolutely anything in the world you want to,’’ she said.

‘‘Exactly. It’s a curse.’’

‘‘Close your eyes. Pretend there are no barriers. You have all the skills, all the education, whatever. You wake up tomorrow and you’re living your dream job. What is it?’’

‘‘Something big. Something global. Affecting immigration and economy on a macro level. Research and policy. Conflict resolution? Mediation? Diplomacy?’’

Then she starts talking about U.S. Diplomacy, foreign policy, government, politics, public policy, law.