Tell me about Lexington Park, MD

The company Mrs. Magill had interned with in college, dropping tanks out of C-130s for the Air Force, has contacted her and wants her to come work for them on a project for the Navy. In order to sway her decision, they have taken out the shoebox full of money. This position is in Lexington Park, Maryland.

The upside? Lower cost of living. A chance to raise Pinky and his hypothetical siblings in a state which does not rank in the bottom 10 in public education.

The downside? I no nothing about Lexington Park. I found it on a map, looked it up in the cost of living calculator, and found listings in Realtor.com, but that’s it. Main questions are would it be a good place to raise a family? How close to Washington is it? Would I be able to find a job there? (I am a telecom vet and a Tech Theater vet.) Is there a good comic shop?

Could any one tell me the straight dope on Lexington Park?

I think it has a nice name.

But that’s all I know. Because I’ve only just heard of it in this thread.

Probably not the in-depth information you were seeking, but there you have it.

“Lexington Park, MD. A place with a nice name.”

Having not heard about it until last night, I 'm right there with you (until last night, I had been researching Norfolk, Va - Much easier.)

Things I know:
It has a nice name.
It’s south east of Washington.
It’s across the Patomic from Va.
Its population is 11000
It’s right on the Chesapeak Bay.
It’s in Maryland.

Things I don’t know:
Everything else.

FairyChatMom and Dgbygawdcapn live in the general area. I’m sure FCM will be by eventually to comment.

If the other job prospect in Nawfick warms up, I can help. I live across the river in Hampton.

This was the other job prospect in Norfolk. Actually, the original words were, “near Norfolk.” I guess this is true, as long as you don’t count the Potomic and James Rivers.