Tell Me About Santa Cruz, CA

I’m going to be spending a day in Santa Cruz, California later this fall (visiting family in Modesto, taking a day trip to Santa Cruz).

We’ll be there sometime between October 18 - October 22. Will the weather be warm? How about the water? Also, how is the surf that time of year? Are the waves pretty consistent year-round?

Anything else of interest in Santa Cruz? Perhaps a good place to eat?

Do tell!

The weather might be warm, or it might not. Late October is a hard time to predict the weather in California. It’s going to be cooler than it will be in Modesto or San Jose. It’s possible that it will still be warm and sunny, but it’s also possible that it will be cold, foggy, and rainy.

The water, AFAIK, never gets warmer than about 60 degrees there. Don’t know about the surfing- never tried it.

Restaurants I or my friends have eaten at and liked:

El Palomar Mexican, kind of expensive (but bear in mind I was a grad student at the time I lived there), 2222 E Cliff Dr
Saturn Cafe vegetarian, 145 Laurel Street
Sabieng Thai Cuisine Thai, inexpensive and a personal favorite, 1226 Mission Street
Vasili’s Greek Food & BBQ, 150 Mission Street
Carniglia’s Restaurant, seafood, on the wharf
Miramar Restaurant, seafood, on the wharf

Fun things to do:

Driving out on the wharf. You can drive onto the wharf for a small hourly fee and park out there. This is the best place to park if you are going to a restaurant on the wharf or to the beach or boardwalk. There are restaurants and souvenir shops on the wharf, and at the end of the wharf, there are holes that you can look down into and see sea lions basking on the supports of the wharf.

The boardwalk and beach. I’m not sure if the rides will be open when you go- they might be, if you go on a weekend. If it’s warm, it can be nice to lie out on the beach.