Tell me about wells and septic systems

My fiance and I are in the market for a house. The first round of candidates is a list of ten houses in roughly the same neighborhood, provided by our Realtor. We haven’t seen them in person yet, but fiance and I already agree as to which one is the top contender - at least as far as aesthetics and features go. The issue is that it’s on well water and a septic system.

I have zero experience with well or septic, so I have no opinion. As long as I turn on the faucet and get water, and I flush the toilet and the poop goes bye-bye, I’m good. Fiance, however, was initially dead-set against them, as a blanket policy. He does seem to have an open mind with regard to this particular house, and my feeling is that it would be a shame to pass it up, especially if well and septic are more or less indistinguishable from community water and sewer.

So what’s the deal? I know they require a certain amount of care and maintenance. Are they worth it, or are they too problematic and risky? What should I expect, and what do I need to know?

A huge number of people live with them in rural areas, so it is certainly workable.

I expect you need to get them inspected to see what kind of shape they are in.

I can answer half your question. We have a septic tank.

We’ve been in our house since 2000 and have had no problems. There a few things to consider with a septic tank (from my dad, who works for a company that installs and repairs them)

1. No trees, no shrubbery, nothing but grass over the tank. I’ve seen pictures of roots growing through pipes. As my dad says, “Do you want to hug your tree or flush your toilet?”

2. Nothing down the drain except soap and food products. No paint, no paint thinner, leftover medicine, etc. The bacteria in the tank can be killed by that stuff.