Tell me how to finish up my degree

I’ve recently been playing with the idea of actually completing my college degree. I’ve never finished it since dropping out, primarily because I always had good jobs making a decent amount of money, and I never could figure out what I wanted a degree in.

I have somewhere between 2 and 3 years of university schooling under my belt. I’d been working on a degree in Classical Civilization, but switched to Greek & Latin somewhere in the last 6 or 8 months. Most of my coursework was in history and english type classes, with some basics like Psych 101 thrown in here and there.

I dropped out in 1991 and went to Colorado, where I spent the next 11 years working as a software engineer (self taught.) It’s somewhat interesting to me to actually go get a computer science degree, but I’m loathe to spend the time and money on it if it means I’m stuck taking a bunch of classes that I can teach. Hell, I had a gig writing college level computer textbooks for a while; it’s not like taking Programming 101 is going to be challenging to me.

So now I’m back in Michigan, in a small town with a small university. The university ain’t so great, but it’s not so bad that I absolutely don’t want to go there. I’m playing with my options now. As I see it, I need to figure out two things - just WHAT I want to get a degree in, and then HOW I’m going to accomplish that.