Tell me your inspirational stories of switching careers

I’m a grad student going for a PhD in biomedical sciences and… It just isn’t working out. My heart’s just not in it, and my work has been pretty poor. I have the option of cutting things short and leaving with a Master’s degree, and I think I’ll take it.

The problem is that I wanted to be a research scientist since I was very young, and I’ve never seriously considered doing anything else. So this is a pretty big change in the way I see myself. Don’t get me wrong, I know a master’s is nothing to sneeze at, but this is the end of a childhood dream, and the first time ever I’ve been left without any real direction for my future since I was about ten. So, I’m bummed

What I need right now is some inspiring anecdotes and advice and the like. Funny, sexy, heartwarming, whatever you’ve got. You can leave out the ones where you spent five years living in a cardboard box. Those I don’t need to hear right now.

If you’ve lost enthusiasm for what you’re doing, you should definitely leave now – it’s only gonna get worse.

Me: I started out in academia (PhD, sociology of religion), left the biz almost 20 years ago, managed to get into magazine publishing, and am now editor in chief of a start-up gardening magazine, which is a total dream job for me. So, yeah, there is life outside the academy.

I graduated college with a degree in Broadcasting, where I learned two things:

*I had a great face for radio.
*My voice was perfect for print media.

I moved back in with my parents after college and got a soul-crushing office job. Like so many other 20-somethings, I love *The Office * and *Office Space * because I can relate so much. I saved every penny I made, and after about 9 months of that, I moved back to my college town…