Tell us about horrible homeowner association rules

I have heard from so many people for years that they think homeowners associations or condo rules, or both, are the absolute pits. And they would never live in a place that had them.

Of course, I have no experience with them, but I would like to hear some real experiences people have had with those rules. Also, maybe you could tell about a rule that that you know of is over-the-top difficult to live with. Or maybe a rule or set of rules that you personally learned about that prevented you from buying a home or condo.

Try to keep your response to something you know for certain, for real, absolutely true horror stories or just pain-in-the-butt harassment by condo or association boards using “rules.”

Not really what you’re looking for, but I am on my fourth property with an HOA and have never had an issue with over-the-top rules or had any request requiring HOA approval denied (architectural changes, temporary location of dumpster in the street, etc.).

About the closest I can come is that in out previous HOA a neighbor wanted a higher backyard fence than the rules allowed. She got elected to the HOA board, got her waiver approved, then did not run again. Pretty minor.

The last place we lived in FL had an HOA. The neighborhood was a single road - maybe 50 houses if that many - and the most expensive place was less than $150K, so not a high end community. It was also a brand new neighborhood - none of the houses were over 2 years old when the builder turned things over to the board.