Tennis Scoring?

Yeah I have a problem…I don’t understand how you tell the score!
love
game

and how you would say it aloud!

please help!

sencerily,
tennis dummy

OK, I’ll do the first part.

“Love” in tennis scoring has little to do with affection. It is the phonetic English version of the French “L’Oeuf (short for “le oeuf”)”, which means “the egg”. It refers to the shape of the number zero (0).

Next poster to serve.

I’ll return the 40:

For whatever reason, tennis is scored by 15’s. Eventually, 45 was shortened to 40, just to make it easier to call out.

I think that the verbal scoring is along the lines of “30 serving 40”. Once the score is 40-40, the score becomes “deuce”. When a player scores next, it’s called “Advantage ‘Smith’”. If Smith’s opponent scores next, it’s back to deuce, and if Smith scores again, it’s game.

Each time you win a volley, you get 15 points. (When I started playing, you said “45” instead of “40” – it changed to the latter as a form of shorthand.) Sixty points is game.

You always give the score of the server first. Thus “love-15” is different than “15-love.”

If the two players tie at 40-40, it’s called “deuce,” probably because someone had to win two in a row to win the game. After the next point, it’s “advantage in” or “advantage out,” depending on if the server wins the point (“advantage in” – though nowadays, they often say “advantage Smith”). “Advantage” probably derives from the fact that the person winning the point only had to win the next one to win the game, giving him a strong advantage. If your opponent has the advantage and you score the next point, it’s “deuce” again. In the old days, a game could go on a long time before someone won.