The Age of Expression … The Art Nouveau Period.

Okay … I have a confession to make. I’m a writer of sorts … freelance mostly. Its not like my day job but something I do when I’m not searching for stuff to sell to … well to folk who have lots of money to spend.

The following is all my own work. So wish I could illustrate it with images, but like I said …

Anyway …

The Art Nouveau period was a brief decade and a half from 1890 to about 1905 yet this belies its importance. The sinuous swirls and flourishes that characterised it vanished rapidly at the beginning of the 20th century. Yet the stress on the importance of design and the development of artists as designers continues to influence the appearance of the everyday world.

The greatest piece of architectural Art Nouveau to be found anywhere is the famous and daring creation for the 1889 Paris Exhibition … the Eiffel Tower.

The artistic expression of life in the 19th century gave birth to Art Nouveau … new art in every sense of the word. As early as 1884 two Belgium lawyers Octave Maus and Edmond Picard coined the phrase, even so its origins can be traced to Britain. But the 1890’s saw the evolving in France of Art Nouveau and this was particularly so in Paris and Nancy.

In Britain only Liberty and the famous Mackintosh furniture can compare with the originality of the French and other European designs. Personally I don’t like the furniture of this period probably because it is so prohibitively expensive and in my opinion very little of it is worth the prices being asked.

To me it is in the design and manufacture of glass, decorative sculptures and jewellery where the true beauty of the Art Nouveau period can be found.