The Dresden Files - Latecomer Ongoing Discussion (spoilers possibly?)

I needed a book series for my time in lockdown quarantine. I am a teacher and will spend the final 2 1/2 months teaching from home, followed by summer vacation.

I am using the audio for this series, read by James Marsters. I began Book #1 today on my morning bike ride(another thing I am trying to do during quarantine/lockdown). Like my ongoing Discworld discussion(I have now read 20+ of those), I thought I’d just open a thread to share thoughts.

Anyone else reading these should feel pretty free to share thoughts. I have no clear spoiler policy other than “I hope I don’t get spoiled on major developments”, but I honestly have no clue about the series other than “he’s a wizard in modern times”.

If am not a fan, I’ll quit, but feel free to discuss if you came or come to Dresden Files “late” like me.

Or not. Just a free place to share my thoughts and I’d happily read others. I am on:

Book 1: Storm Front

One thing that I’ll say is that the first book is a bit more mature, sexually, than the rest of the series. Basically, magic is built from emotion, and some kinds of magic are easier to build from some kinds of emotions than others. In this book, some evil wizards are hosting orgies to use the lust to fuel their spells.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend any of the other books to a student, but the first one, I would, for that reason. There’s no graphic detail, but it might be a bit much for a kid who hasn’t yet figured out what sex is and isn’t for. While sex shows up in later books as well (again, not very explicitly), it’s much more clear that, while lust-monsters are generally evil, that’s not all that sex is.