The ethics of reselling software

Okay, so earlier this year, I finally purchased the Adobe Creative Suite (shortly before CS2 was released, but that’s another story). I also own some older versions of Photoshop, Illustrator, and GoLive which I no longer have any use for. Would it be legal/ethical to sell this old software on eBay or the like? Does the fact that they’re the “education versions” (meaning I got them for a lower price because I was a student at the time) affect the legality of reselling them?

Ethically it should be fine to resell software to a single person if you no longer use it. It’s yours and you’re not trying to pirate, you should be allowed. :slight_smile:

Legally, the educational discount is a little fuzzy, it’s possible it is not meant for resale or maybe you should only resell to a student. :confused:

If you read through the Eula (without your eyes rolling backwards from the legalese gibberish) you should be able to determine the company’s position on resale.

I think you should look up right of first sale.
http://www.sivideo.com/9fstslea.htm

Emphasis mine. Did you purchase your newer versions outright or were they upgrades purchased at a lower cost? If all versions were purchased outright you’ll have to go by the EULA but I personally don’t consider it unethical. If they were upgrades then it is a certainty that you would be violating the EULA and I don’t think that you are entitled to sell them.

I bought the full version of the Creative Suite, so it doesn’t count as an upgrade. However, I do have an upgrade to Photoshop 7 which I figured would be unethical to sell. (On the other hand, would it be ethical to sell it bundled with the copy of Photoshop 6 to which the upgrade was applied?)

I think so, definitely.

But the real reason I’m posting:
Applause for thinking this through and caring about these issues.