The Falklands crisis

Why did President Reagan call UK Prime Minister Thatcher to request the Iron Lady to give up the Falkland Islands after the Argentines occupied them with force?

I don’t know anything about such a phone call but the US was trying to avoid escalation of the conflict. One reason was the fear of opening a door for the Soviet Union to get involved with Argentina. This ended quickly once the UK announced they were to going to take back the islands and the US backed and aided the British counter invasion. In addition the UN position had been that the UK and Argentina should resolve the matter through diplomacy.

When did this happen? I can’t find info about this phone call.

I don’t know about such a phone call either, but I’m no expert and have no intention of trawling through Madam’s memoirs to see if she mentioned it.

But my recollection is that there appeared to be quite a protracted and semi-public split within the Reagan administration, to the point that the US representative at the UN voted in a way contrary to what Haig(?) had said or implied to the UK representative. The impression certainly was that some in the Administration wanted some sort of (however face-saving) way of transferring sovereignty: but then, successive UK governments, including Thatcher’s, had previously given the impression they might be interested in such an idea.

But that was IIRC before the task force arrived and the shooting started.

Could be referring to this.

Paywalled. Can you quote the relevant text?