The great Keanu question that plagues mankind even today.

Ladies and Germs,

I have long held the belief that Keanu Reeves’ peak acting performance was in “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.” Since that movie, his delivery of lines has become vapid and monotonous - he lost that “Ted fire,” if you will.

Now I’m no Reeves expert. It must be known that I haven’t seen every movie he has been in. I’ve probably seen a half dozen. Perhaps there is a gem out there that I have missed.

The secret behind his fame eludes me. He’s such a bad actor, I am continually astonished that he is still getting acting gigs.

So in order to educate myself as well as others, here’s a poll. Two questions. First, in what movie did Reeves give his greatest acting performance? Second, what movie in which Reeves “acted” is greatest among the lot? For reference, there is a list here.

IMHO,

1. Reeves’ greatest acting was in “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure,” as I previously mentioned. Sure he was dumb, but he had enthusiasm.
  2. The greatest movie in which he appeared is “Much Ado About Nothing.” This is my favorite Shakespearian movie adaptation. Well written, beautifully filmed and great actors (Emma Thompson sp?).

best keanu performance: My Own Private Idaho
Best Keanu Movie: Much Ado About nothing. But I almost have to disqualify it, since Keanu positively reeked throughout. His performance was a serious mar on an otherwise excellent movie (well, Michael Keeton could have used a bit more control, too – but at least his characte was supposed to by an annoying dolt.) The Matrix and The Gift were both good movies in which Keanu did not reek. Rare gems indeed. In the entertainment world, only the understated Madonna performance is considered more rare. [sub]the melodic Britany Spears hit, alas, remains but a myth[/sub]

1. I Love You To Death and Parenthood
  2. Dangerous Liasons

Although there are quite a few movies of his that I haven’t seen.

Best performance: Rivers Edge