The Greatest American Musical

This thread is a spin-off of the Meet Me in St. Louis thread, wherein Lissener cals MMISL “the great American musical” (which I don’t dispute; it’s very good).
That threatened to start a hijack: what’s the Greatest American musical?

I’m not a expert on American musicals, although I was a film major in college and even took a class in American musical film. I’ve seen many, but by no means all, of the “great” musicals (and some of them I haven’t seen in 20 years more). But I suggested that The Music Man and The Wizard of Oz derserved consideration, along with others mentioned: Singin’ in the Rain, An American in Paris and West Side Story.

I have to admit, I like the Gene Kelley and the Judy Garland. However, I’m not going to nominate The Pirate, which I saw again recently.

So what do you think? Oklahoma or Chicago? Phantom of the Opera or Fiddler on the Roof?

Scope:
Let’s limit ourselves to films only, not stage shows (although films derived from stage shows are fair game). Anything between The Jazz Singer and Momma Mia is up for consideration. Please show your work.

I say asking us to limit ourselves to films only is patently unfair to some of the great American Musicals.

Have you seen the film version of Oklahoma!?

The stage play was a revolutionary piece of theatre, the movie is a steaming pile.

The American Musical artform is one that is inherantly theatrical and film versions of said plays are not really the same thing. Movie musicals are a different beast entierly. My pick for greatest movie musical is probably one of the Busby Berkley films because it presents the musical in a way that only works in film, rather than apeing a stage play. Maybe *Singing in the Rain *because it is a great movie that happens to be a musical. *Cabaret *is up there too as possibly the best adaptation of a stage play, taking the heart of the play and truely adapting it to the medium of film.