The origins of Role Playing Games

I’m sure that something like this has been come up beore but I want to get a better idea.

More or less what I have heard Igax created D&D in the early to mid 70’s and it some how grew out of war gaming (this only what i have heard from sources that suspect are 3rd or 4th hand)

But on the white-wolf fourms i have been flamed for claiming that D&D was the first RPG and in that flame several pepole claimed that their were many proto RPG’s and that D&D was the one that got popular (but many of the pepole on the white-wolf fourms are anti D&D to start with)

So I just want to get a better understanding of where Role Playing Games came from

Nitpick: That would be Gary Gygax

I have been playing D&D and other RPG’s since 1979 and I hadn’t heard of any earlier systems. I will see if I can scare anything up. Judges Guild dates into the mid 70’s might be a lead.

I saw an interview with Gary Gygax on television. What he said was that FRPGs evolved from war games played out with little miniatures. Somebody got the idea of using fantasy scenarios instead of just “real battles,” and somebody else got the idea of creating background stories for the battles. One thing lead to another, and all of a sudden you had the Player’s Handbook, the Dungeon Master’s Guide, the Fiend Folio, the Saturday morning cartoon, and that really atrocious movie . . .

But the guy who interviewed Gary Gygax was Phil Donahue, so with that timeframe established, you’ll have to figure a good probability for memory fault into what I just said. I’m pretty sure it’s accurate though.

The answer will be very dependent upon your definitions. Is monopoly a role-playing-game? Cops ‘n’ robbers?

The game with miniatures was called “Chainmail.” It involved miniature warriors, knights, archers etc. The combat used six-sided dice. Based on the popularity of The Lord of the Rings, someone wrote a supplemental rule booklet that let you add things like wizards, dragons and orcs.