The Sourdough

I have been attempting to master The Sourdough for about 3 years (note the caps. One utters “The Sourdough” in the same way they might announce that they are a fan of “The Ballet,” or had mastered “The Violin”.)

I have mastered The Rib, The Brisket, The Chili, The Hash Brown, The Shrimp Cocktail, and many many more, it usually take anywhere from a few tries to a dozen to master a new food item.

The Sourdough has been proving recalcitrant.

The Sourdough allows for 3 ingredients; unbleached flour, water, salt. That’s it.

One begins with starter, which is a live yeasty sponge that needs to be fed. It is simply fermenting flour and water. From there one makes a less watery sponge, waits 12 hours or so, makes a dough, waits several hours, shapes loaves, waits several hours, bakes, and then they have a product.

I’ve been consistently getting an insufficient rise, no matter what variables I play with, but yesterday I came close. In a couple of more months I might end up with an acceptable loaf, maybe sometime after that I will achieve mastery.

For something so simple and basic, it is very difficult. Any savants out there that want to share tips? What have you been struggling with?

May be that your area lacks decent airborne yeasts. Did you make your starter yourself, or purchase/steal/borrow it from elsewhere?

I purchased it. Gold Rush starter from San Francisco. I also tried making my own. That didn’t go well

What are you doing with the dough after adding flour to the sponge? Are you maintaining temperature and humidity? Are you adding too much salt?

Move to San Francisco. You can only make real sourdough bread in that terrior.

Quick question, how active is your starter?

Like, how long does it take to double on its own after you feed it?