The thing that finally got you to start exercising?

The thing that finally got me to start exercising was my discovery of rock climbing. I’ve been doing it now for about five months. I’m not a very naturally muscular guy, but I’ve made improvements in strength and gotten better at the sport. Before this, I’d tried to get myself to exercise regularly but couldn’t do it.

You?

Depression. Heard that running could help, so did c25k then carried on. Began cycling every day too and then added power vinyasa yoga twice a week. Not only do I enjoy the challenge and the burn - not to mention the endorphins - of physical exertion, but I now feel greasy and unpleasant if I don’t do one or two highly energetic things every day.

Depression, or the lack thereof.

The entire reason I became lazy and fat was due to severe depression. I was using my lack of exercise and weight gain as a form of passive suicide. Now that I’m over it, I’m getting back into shape, as I used to love being able to do things like dead lift 150lbs, or bench 180lbs, or do 100 push ups in a row.

I made a reservation, a year in advance, to hike across the Grand Canyon. Did a lot of biking the summer before to build up some endurance and lose weight. I still barely made it.

After a slow start this summer, I’ve picked up the habit again. Been trying to do twenty miles a day, lost about ten pounds so far.

Nothing yet, but I’m hoping.

When I was younger I was pretty active, ate fairly well, and worked out on a regular basis. I was pretty fit and had a good physique.

Fast-forward 10 years. I had an all consuming job and had no time to exercise, sleep properly, or eat properly. I had developed chronic heartburn, put on 40 lbs, and my GI tract was going nuts.

I went to the doctor and he said quite matter-of-factly that I was well on the road to “middle-aged fat guy”.