The whole Mac/PC thing going on...Why do people care?

I am sorry if this is a topic that has been recently discussed, but I couldn’t get the “Search” function to work, and I cannot remember seeing any thread on this topic of late.

I am currently a “cross platform” person, with both a PC (the newer, faster machine) and a PowerMac. I felt a little “left out”, not knowing about Macs, and I had heard they were good for graphics. (I’m an artist, so it made sense for me to be curious about Macs.) So far, I really like my little Mac. I think it has a lot to offer. But I like my PC as well.

Anyway, during my exploration of Macs, I found that many people have violent feelings (on both sides.) I discovered many “hate sites” on the web, (especially directed towards Macs.) And I just can’t figure out why people would give a damn about what kind of computer someone else is using. They are just computers - machines. This is not a religion or political philosophy we are talking about - just a machine.

Well, I can kind of see that some Mac people would get a little frothy about the mouth - they are “underdogs”, they are in the minority, and they probably feel the need to stick together for support, help in finding products, troubleshooting, etc. (But thanks to the iMac, Macs are getting a litle more popular, so Macs are a tad more “mainstream” these days.)

But what is the big deal with the Windows people ragging on Macs? They are by far in the majority, so much more support for PCs, everywhere, so when a PC/Windows person gets all frothy against Macs and Mac people (and I’ve seen it) it reminds me a little bit of a Big German Shepherd barking up a storm and having a fit becuase there’s some little poodle or terrier in their sight. Or the Big Fish having a fit because there are a few guppies swimming around in a corner. Why care? Why even notice?

I just don’t get it!