They used to suck, now they're awesome!!!

After starting this recent Thread about musicians who went from rocking hard to hardly rocking, I started to wonder if I ever thought the opposite to be true of anyone.

It’s not uncommon for a band to put out great work early in their career, only to end up sucking later on.

Are there any artists whose early work you think is terrible but whose later work you love? I’m not talking about basic progressive developement as an artist, I mean:

[important element of the OP]
You HATE their early work, but you LOVE their later work!
[/important element of the OP]

Having trouble coming up with examples of my own, but thought it might be an interesting point of discussion.

I’m no fan whatsoever of Pablo Honey and The Bends by Radiohead , but since OK computer they fucking rock.

Early Chilli Peppers I never liked either, until the last couple of years and One Hot Minute.

(Looks at the thread immediately below this one.) The Flaming Lips. I used to hate them, and now I love them.

They started off as an “alternative” band in all the negative senses of the word (i.e. sophmoric pretentious wiseasses … it didn’t help that their hit was the throwaway “She Don’t Use Jelly.”) They have since turned into an alternative band in all the positive senses of the word (mature, sophisticated, innovative.)

Early Good Charlotte was Godawful. With the exception of “Little Things,” their earlier stuff was pretty bad.

I’m not a HUGE fan now, but I think they went the right route by borrowing liberally from Blink 182. Their newer stuff sounds much, much better.

Radiohead, for sure. I don’t hate Pablo Honey, but it is an undeniably mediocre record (although seeing “Creep” performed live is a powerful experience, just for the sheer intensity of the choruses and bridge). But starting from The Bends, Radiohead have been on an as-yet unbroken streak of brilliant albums.