THIS song sound just like THAT song.

As a music producer, I spend so much more time focusing on the instrumentation behind songs. I like to find the tiny little hidden sounds that you wouldn’t normally hear if you weren’t looking for them. As a result, I usually notice when songs sound really similar, even if they are 50-some years apart and in the back of my mind.

Most of my examples won’t be the classic rock you guys love, but I’ll start it off.

Suuns - Armed for Peace sounds just like a 2010s update of Marcy Playground - Sex and Candy

Chief Keef - Hate Bein’ Sober sounds just like Chief Keef - Love Sosa

(quick edit: as much as I’d love to have a “hunt for the sample” kind of thread, samples don’t count.)

Check out www.soundsjustlike.com.

I remember there were two or more Offspring songs that had the same music. I can’t remember what the songs were though.

I can’t link to them from here, but What’s Up? (4 Non Blondes, 1992) is the same song as Don’t Worry, Be Happy (Bobby McFerrin, 1988).

I like the former but despise the latter.

The Offspring’s “Get a Job” and the Beatles “Obla-di Obla-da”?

The Strokes’ “Last Night” and Tom Petty’s “American Girl.”

George Harrison’s “My Sweet Lord” and the Chiffons’ “He’s So Fine.”

I just noticed this yesterday, actually. Ray Charles’ “Look What They’ve Done To My Song” and ELO’s “Hold On Tight” are remarkably similar, right down to a 3rd verse in French.

Young Girl” vs. “Woman Woman” vs. “Lady Willpower” by Gary Puckett and the Union Gap. As Lillian Roxon pointed out, it’s the same song sung sideways.

Iron Butterfly’s Inna-gadda-da-vida and Cream’s Sunshine of Your Love.

Cole Porter’s My Heart Belongs to Daddy [Ella Fitzgerald version is the one I like] Some female singer had a rockish song out in the late 80s with the refrain of my heart belongs to you sung pretty much exactly like my heart belongs to daddy. Can’t find it in a quick run through youtube though.