"Thou Shalt Not Kill" is a bad mistranslation? (attn: cmkeller)

In the “Conservative Contradictions” thread cmkeller wrote:

“And I won’t even get into what a royally bad mistranslation ‘thou shalt not kill’ is of the original Hebrew verse.”

You’ve piqued my curiosity, would you mind getting into it here?

From the context of your remark, I assume there were “clauses” to the statement, like “Thou shalt not kill, unless some dumb shvantz out there needs killing”, or something sort of like that.

As to whether this is (Great)debate-worthy, I’m sure there could be some debating about how valid certain points of view are given the fact that they are based on a mistranslation.

(On a side note, something I’ve always wondered is how one pronounces your 1st name. Is it like “Ky-um”?)

– Revtim

Well, I am not cmkeller, but most scholars believe that a better translation would be “Thou shalt not murder.” I am not an expert in ancient Hebrew, so I have no idea what it says. :slight_smile:

Okay, last things first: my name. The “CH” is a gutteral sort of sound that doesn’t really exist in English, only in borrowed German/Yiddish words…probably “Chutzpah” is the best-known of them. If you can pronounce Chutzpah properly, you know how the “CH” in Chaim is pronounced. Otherwise, you could use the “K” sound or the “H” sound…I’ve heard them both.

The rest of it sounds like “eye - im” (im as in him or Jim).

Now, “Thou shalt not kill.” The verse, in its original Hebrew, reads “Lo Tirtzach” (there’s that “CH” again!). “Lo” is “no” or “Don’t,” and the “Ti” at the beginning of the second word means “you.”

The rest is the verb root R-TZ-CH (all Hebrew verbs are composed of three-letter roots; the vowelization and added prefixes or suffixes tell you the subject and tense). It has the specific connotation of “personally malicious murder.” This obviously excludes: