Thoughts on Redshirting - Kindergarten

So this has been asked before, that is, the pros and cons of Red Shirting a child so that they start Kindergarten a year later then they otherwise could start.

Seeing how kids are starting school again I thought I would ask again for Dopers opinions and experiences with Red Shirting.

By way of background, my son is 4 (born late April, 2011). He is fairly speech delayed and has been in speech therapy now for two years. So he is going into five day pre-K in two weeks. My thoughts are that we hold him back another year as I think it would be good for him. So he would be 6 going into Kindergarten.

I’m by no means a child expert, but I’d say give it some serious consideration. I didn’t have that decision to make with either of my boys as both were born in months just slightly past the cutoff, so each was close to six when he started school. Both were so much more emotionally mature and better able to handle the experience. I think your little one would likely benefit quite a bit from the extra time working on his speech development.

But hopefully someone more qualified to answer your question will also weigh in.

Good luck with your decision, whichever way you decide to go.

Thank you for your response! I’m just canvassing thoughts and experiences, not looking for a definitive answer. Obviously we will speak to his teachers. He’s a tall kid, which helps and he is very active which is also good but I don’t see the downside of keeping him back a year. So the more I know the better informed my decision will be!

My birthday is 12/31/54. When I started school a child could enroll in kindergarten if they would be five before New Year’s Day. So my parents could have started me in school in the fall of1958. I would have forever been the youngest in my class.