Tips for racquetball?

Hi all,

What are the best strategies for playing racquetball? What are good ways to practice? What are the keys things to remember? Are there any veterans out there?

To give you some background: I’ve played squash for about 12 years…and just started racquetball. Although the games are similar, they’re just different enough that I find my old strategies don’t work (“You mean you’re allowed to his it off the CEILING?!”) I did search this board and the Net but didn’t really find anything that great (even using both spellings, racquetball and racketball).

Any advice from the pros?

-Darren.

Let’s see… tips:

1. Aim for the ball
  2. Don’t let go of the racket
  3. Hi, Opal!

Oh, you probably wanted something more advanced… :wink:

I’m not a pro, by any means, but I like to play. I don’t know anything about Squash technique, but I’ve played racquetball against people who are more tennis players, and they tend to swing and follow through with the arm. I would say that in racquetball, it’s in the wrist, instead – especially if you want a speed shot.

Don’t be afraid to use all the walls. Sometimes you want to shoot off the back wall instead of the front.

For serves, people have different styles and strategies. I’ve seen people who serve slow lobs that drop like a brick in the middle of the court, and have a good chance to bounce over the opponent’s head when they try to get to it. Most people I know try to serve faster and lower. Aiming so that the ball lands in the back corner is often effective, too, as those are sometimes hard to get to.

When you are in a volley, and going to put one away, using a side wall can be pretty effective. If you just go for a fast and low shot at the front wall, it might get to much bounce – angle it so it hits the front AND side wall (and even side wall first), on a low shot, and that’s hard for your opponent to get to.