Tips on Long Distance Moving and being in a new state

I’m moving from Los Angeles after a lifetime to Austin, Texas.

Here are my stats and challenges:

Money is an issue. So is time. So is the fact that I have to move kinda suddenly, I have a ton of stuff (kind of a low-level hoarder), and I’m not very good at managing priorities or time or money. I’m kinda paranoid about my genuinely important and valuable things (computers, personal mementos and pictures, etc.), I have two big dogs, I’m female and middle aged and single.

Hey Kids, Let’ s put on a show!

I already know that the actual moving of the ME and my dogs will be, obviously, to drive from LA. I drove to the Four Corners area once, and it was two days. I figure middle of Texas will be three. Is that a good estimate? So I need to budget and plan for a couple of motel nights. (planning important because of the dogs, can’t just flop out any ol’ where…oh man I have to get my car checked and tuned and everything as well…). I actually like driving alone as a general rule…yet still I wonder about that and wonder if i shoudl try and rope a friend into coming with me. Don’t know.

Someone mentioned something called Pods to me, I have yet to check it out, but it’s a “pod” that gets dropped at my house for X time, I can fill it at my leisure, they pick it up and deliver it to my new place in Texas. That sounds fantastic in terms of my energy limitations, and the fact that I just am not capable of packing up my house in a day or two or three, but someone else told me they just aren’t big enough.

I’ve only used movers locally and they were really pricey. Huge money to move 20 minutes apart, for the labor of the pack/unpack.

Also, what are the thoughts about my big items, the cost of packing and moving vs. simply replacing? Is it worth it to get a big enough truck to make sure I can take all my appliances and big stuff and everything I want to, or will the cost of that outstrip replacing it?