Tips on making jam

At my new house, turns out there are a ton of blackberry bushes, so now I have 2.5 quarts of ripe berries in my fridge. There is no way I can eat them all, so I want to make jam. I have the jars, the pectin, and the fruit, but I’m wondering if there are any other tips I should know. I don’t have a jar sterilizer or whatever you’re supposed to have to keep the jars hot. Can I just use a pot of water? This is my first time jammin’, so any hints would be appreciated.

Yes, you can just use a tall, wide soup pot. The jars have to be covered by about two inches of water and not crowded together. I’d also recommend investing in on of those pairs of rubber-covered tongs that lets you grab jars out of the water and a canning funnel (like a regular funnel, but about two inches wide at the opening) to let you fill the jars without getting any on the rim.

You can also just top the jam with paraffin rather than canning the jam. Make sure you sterilize the jars before putting in any jam, then pour in about a half-inch layer of hot paraffin. It’ll solidify and seal the jar, and all of it will come up and not stick to the jam.

Hmmm . . . my mom always used paraffin when canning.

I guess the advantage is that you don’t need canning jars with the special sealy-ma-jigger stuff around the lid, you can just use any ol’ jars you have hanging around.

I vill haff to sink about zis . . . I’ve been thinking of canning some stuff, but haven’t really gone beyond the idle musing stage.

Are there applications where paraffin doesn’t work? I’m thinking pickles?

Hmmm . . . on second glance, a little googling indicates that paraffin is not a very safe way to can. Sorry, I’d post links, but I’m taking off from work . . . But I had to post something or somebody might get botulism, and then I’d feel bad. :slight_smile:

The “Ball Book of Canning” is your basic how-to resource.