Title Copyright

http://www.straightdope.com/classics/a1_144a.html

Titles can not be copyrighted. As a composer, I can tell you that I never have to worry about the title of my work, especially when I choose something generic like “Symphony No. 1” or “Concerto for Flute and Piano”.

This even extends to books and movies. I could write a book and title it “To Kill A Mockingbird” in which I describe bird-hunting techniques. As long as the content of the text is not significantly identical to any previously copyrighted book (regardless of the title), then I have not broken any laws.

Cecil said that words or phrases could not be copyrighted, but didn’t Marv Albert copyright the word “Threepeat” one of the times the Bulls were about to win their third title? I remember hearing that anyone who used the word on the air would have to pay him. Was this just urban legend?

In this age of one-word “poems”, perhaps “Threepeat” is indeed copyright, but it is far more likely to be trademarked, which, legally, is a whole 'nother critter.

If you were to publish a book entitled “<something> For Dummies” you will get a free (?) lesson on trademarks in titles from IDG’s lawyers.

Thanks for the input JWK. Can you give me a crash course on trademarks vs. copyriight?

Also, I would be interested to know if anyone can verify whether Marv Albert actually made any money out of this.

It is highly unlikely that the “Threepeat” trademark owner, Pat Riley, would allow Marv Albert to make money off it.

I’ve noticed that commercials for companies not associated with the NFL no longer use the term “Super Bowl.” Usually it’s some lame substitute like “pro football championship.” But I also heard one radio spot (sorry, can’t recall the product) that made fun of it: “legally, we can’t tell you the name of the game, so let’s just call it the Uper-say Owl-bay.”

What’s up with that?

– Beruang