To the people at Xteq...

I hate you.

It is because of your incredibly shoddy product, “Xsetup” that I have not been able to rebuild my PC at work for the past week. You all should be locked up for life for causing my pc to crash with your virus-ridden, sorry excuse for a piece of software. I hope you all rot in hell!

…and if any of you here at the SDMB care to know what exactly happened, you may continue reading:

I downloaded a program called “Xsetup” from ZDNet last week. It was recommended by ZDNet as a good utility to have on your system for making system tweaks. I installed it and immediately started having problems booting my pc up. No problem, I have Gateway GoBack, so I’ll just go back to how my system was configured 2 weeks ago. It boots up one time, then the same thing starts happening again. No problem. I’m a computer tech, I’ll just reformat my hard drive and restart everything from scratch. Well, now I cannot get my PC to log into our network with our network client. I’ve reinstalled the entire operating system (after zeroing out the hard drive with a low level format) and I still cannot get it to work right. Now, every time I boot, I can log in exactly once to our novell network, then when I restart, it will lock up right after the Win98 splash screen. If I restart, I get the option to boot into safe mode, but if I select normal, it will go in only once, then the process repeats.

I implore you, do NOT download “Xsetup”. It will royally screw up your pc. The thing that gets me though is that I just updated my virus signature file just 2 days prior. I am so pissed I could spit venom. If I EVER meet somone who admits to writing virus code, I’ll strangle them right where they stand.

Thanks for letting me vent. You guys are the best.

Thanks for the warning!