Toddler Tells Mom She Hears Monsters in Her Bedroom. Beekeeper Discovers Over 50,000 Bees in the Wall

ok heres my question… the mom says they checked the room because you know toddlers but didn’t hear anything for weeks … beekeeper says they’d been there for 8 months … Iam I missing something because I can hear when 1 bee is in the house … …?

Maybe she has bad hearing?
Or, maybe the room is loud (fans., A/C, etc.)

Mom probably has some degree of hearing loss. Kids can hear sounds that are not detectable by adults

(Nod to @beowulff )

FWIW, I have a lot of experience with bee colonies. Over the years I’ve had bees in trees, in walls, in gas grills, in old equipment, etc, etc. In my experience, the hives don’t make much noise. They make a low humming sound - not like individual bees flying around.

I have had a beehive in my walls. It became pretty damn obvious.

It wasn’t loud as in somebody shouting loud, no. But it buzzed. And it smelled. And bees started coming out into the insides of the house, in significant numbers; not hundreds of them inside the rooms of the house, though I expect there were a couple of thousand inside the walls, but ten or twenty bees buzzing around inside even a sizeable house at any given time are hard to miss. Especially when you put a hand on one accidentally and get stung; or the cat does, and is suddenly across the room yowling.

The bees were in the walls, which will muffle and distort the sound somewhat. I have a friend who had the same problem. Unless you actually see bees coming and going from a crack in the foundation or a gap in one of the windows, it takes a lot longer to diagnose 50,000 bees than you’d think.

Would any of the honey be edible? that would be about the only consolation… I could see