Trailer for "Australia"

Saw this last night (the trailer). Within 15 seconds, it was painfully obvious that this movie will suck and/or be a box office flop. Anyone else catch it and come to the same conclusion?

Well, this was certainly my reaction, but I’m not good at predicting these things.
I feel the time for big epic dramas has passed, I’m not wild about the leads, and the thread of “liberal hero saves poor Aboriginal girl” that I detected in the preview was off-putting.
I do like the idea of pretty pictures of Australia on the big screen though.

It might well be a US box office flop, if (American) people aren’t in the mood, but that doesn’t necessarily reflect that it’s a bad movie. Lots of great movies have terrible box office. Lots of great movies have terrible box office in the US, but do well in other countries. This will be a hit in Australia no matter what.

Myself, I’m counting on it being a wonderful film, and my anticipation is through the roof. It’s Baz! It’s Nicole! It’s Hugh! It’s Australia! It’s an Epic! It’s WWII! I mean really, the pre-release signs just can’t get any better for me. I get goosebumps when I see the trailer. It may or may not live up to my excitement, but I can’t wait to see it.

I don’t think it is an epic drama. It’s more a romantic adventure, with a dramatic macguffin as a backdrop. That’s what I recall from early word from Baz Luhrmann.

I was excited during the first 30 seconds or so of the trailer. I love historicals and epics and Nicole and Jackman, but I fear the trailer told the whole damn story.

That’s my problem with the trailer for The Soloist. “What more of the movie is there to see?”

I’m going just for Jackman. If Nicole dies in the first ten seconds, then all that much more bettererer.

I saw the trailer and thought, “Australia was bombed during World War II?” So I went to Wikipedia and read about the bombing of Darwin during the war. I thought I was well-informed, but I hadn’t heard about it.