Training To Fly A Large Commercial Jet

I was thinking Al Qaeda would like to pull off a repeat of 9/11 but obviously they can’t do what they did in terms of taking over a large commercial jet.

But I was thinking there is nothing to prevent them from training a pilot from scratch and have him apply for a job, fly a year or so then have a legit pilot. No need to take over the airplane, cause they’d be flying it.

Now my question is if someone was a complete novice, how many years would it take to go to actually being able to pilot a large jet like those jets used in the 9/11 attacks.

Many, many years. Even with a commercial multi-engine license in hand, you don’t just walk into those jobs. You also need thousands of hours of air time.

Most large commercial jet pilots come out of the military, or spend years and years trying to work their way up into the big leagues.

My uncle took this path and worked his way up as far as a pilot flying a commercial regional turboprop. After three years, he was still at least a decade away from reaching a large jet, before he quit the profession due to the low pay. (The regional turboprops are treated almost like an internship program for pilots, who will do almost anything to build up hours, so the pay sucks.)

It really depends on the state of the airline industry. The US aside, the industry in other countries had been booming up until the latest economic woes. Even then, the Australian industry has stagnated a little but there is still a lot of demand for pilots in the long term.

It is possible, but unlikely, to have an airline job within a couple of years of starting. There are still airlines like Qantas that offer cadetships where they take kids off the street and put them through the required training.