Transgender president: Glass ceiling truly broken?

Suppose a transgender president (cisgender man turned woman) is elected as the nation’s first female president. Would this be considered by most of society to be a “true” case of breaking the glass ceiling, or would a large contingent claim that this wasn’t the same as a cisgender “real” woman having made it there?

Probably both.

Also: We won’t have truly broken the glass ceiling until we elect the second transgender president.

I am far from an expert on transgender issues, but I can see that there is so much wrong with your op as to be unanswerable as is.

First: Gender has two main factors: body and soul (there may be many other factors but let’s stick with those 2 for now). When the body and the soul align, that is considered cis gendered. When they don’t align, that’s trans. So a person doesn’t start out cisgenderd and then change to trans.

On a personal level the soul (mind and emotions) is really where we experience our sense of self. How we think about ourselves is more important than how we look. So from that perspective a trans women is a “real” woman.

To the rest of the world, how we look is what really matters. You can never really know what’s going on at the personal level for anyone. All we really have to judge someone by is the appearance they project. That’s why it’s so important to alot of trans people to bring their body inline with their soul; so that others may truly see them as they see themselves.

As to where transgender people fit in the gender political spectrum of man vs woman? That is alot trickier. Women have long been deemed as unfit to participate in a man’s world and many have worked hard to change that. And some see the transgendered as a fellow marginalized minority and welcome them and revel in their victories while others see it as just one more way where men can push aside women.