Tube vs transistor amplifiers

Man, I’m starting a lot of music threads lately! Must have something to do with my new hobby.

Many years ago I read, many times, that musicians preferred tube amps to transistor amps. They claimed it sounded better.

When I mentioned this to my father, the electrical engineer, he insisted that there was absolutely no difference. There was no convincing him otherwise.

So who is right? And why? What’s the science behind the difference, if any?

There is a difference, since the response of components like that is always nonlinear, and tubes and transistors will have different response curves. Which one is actually better, of course, is a matter of taste, and if you really wanted to, you could construct a solid-state device (probably composed of a great many transistors) which would be close enough to tubes as to be indistinguishable to the human ear.

I am not an electronics expert, but here’s what I’ve gathered:

It’s easier & cheaper to make a straight amp using transistors than tubes. Tubes distort the sound in all kinds of ways. In my limited experience, tube amps (at least fairly cheap ones) don’t have as full a frequency range as transistor amps - you get less deep bass and less high frequencies. Tubes also deteriorate - which is a problem if you want a faithful reproduction of the incoming signal; you’ll have to replace the tubes at some point.

But tubes are good if you want a distorted sound; if you oversaturate a signal to a tube amp it has a smooth transition from “pretty clean” to “pretty nasty”, while a normal transistor amp will go from “pretty clean” to “lots of nasty crackling”. One of the reasons many guitar amps are still built using tubes - and transistor amps with distortion probably have additional circuits (or digital effects) built in to do distortion “right”.

It was my impression that it was a distortion thing.