TurboTax and Spyware Rumor

I’ve been purchasing TurboTax for several years, but when I went to the Amazon TurboTax page, most of the reviews are negative. Some of the reviews spoke of spyware installed by TurboTax:

Is this true? Can anybody confirm it?

And if it is true, I think that I would prefer to use an alternative. Has anybody used TaxCut? How well does it work with TurboTax files? How well does it work in general?

You can find a review of TurboTax Deluxe 2002 at http://www.zdnet.com/supercenter/stories/overview/0,12069,589398,00.html and an article, “Complaints mount from TurboTax customers” at http://zdnet.com.com/2110-1104-980695.html

PC Magazine prefers Tax Cut over Turbo Tax.

This is disappointing. I have used TT for years too. I may have to make the change after I research this for a bit more.

There is free software availble for download called Ad-aware. Running this program will remove all spyware from your hard drive. I highly recommend it.

Haj

Does Quicken do this, too? Is MS Money better?

I’m actually surprised Intuit didn’t use copy protection before this. It’s pretty much the easiest software to share between family members. Just hand the CD around once you do your taxes. Not that I would do this of course.

I’ll point out for the Mac users that may be getting worried: the Mac version of Turbo Tax is not loaded with spyware nor authentication nor any other schemes. It’s perfectly normal, and I filed online with it yesterday.

Thanks for the links, Yeah. Oddly enough, I just recieved my copy of PC Magazine and found the reviews there helpful. However, despite the fact that the review of TurboTax details the activation process, it doesn’t mention anything that SafeCast.

I though it was very interesting about TurboTax installing a program that didn’t uninstall. From the article linked to above: