U.S. Bar exams

I’m a non-U.S. lawyer and I’m considering taking a U.S. bar exam. As far as I know, at least three states (N.Y., California and Texas) allow foreign lawyers to take the bar exam, subject to some conditions.

N.Y. would be the most useful for me, I think, but are some states regarded as more difficult than others? Also, how long did it take you to study for your state bar, and were you a fresh graduate when you took it?

I graduated law school about 15 years ago, and have been practising in a very narrow area since then, so I’ve probably forgotten the day-to-day things I used to know about contract law, probate, torts etc. I wonder how long I’d need to prep for the test?

New York has a reputation for being tough. One of the Kennedy kids failed it a few times, I think. I haven’t heard anything about Texas or California being harder than any other state.

I’ve taken exactly one bar exam, passed it, and never intend to go through that again. It was brutal. Three days of writing, clock watching, stark terror, and other unpleasantness.

Took it the summer after I graduated in May…think the exam was sometime in late July.

I strongly recommend taking a bar review class. They cost several hundred dollars, but mine was well worth it. I went to law school in one state, took the bar in another. The bar review program covered all of the state-specific stuff very concisely, and also included a review for the multi-state. There were live lectures from Professors at local law schools for some topics, and video-tapes for others, and the materials included excellent outlines for all subjects plus old exams from previous bars and practice tests.

In terms of format, going from my memory of 15 years ago, I think the three days were divided up thusly–1 day for the multi-state, 1.5 days for the state-specific essay portion, and half a day for the multi-state essay part.