Ugh. I'm having my anxiety dream again.

Ever since I graduated from school, I’ve had an intermittent but very consistently themed anxiety dream that only surfaces when I’m worried about my future. Prior to that my anxiety dreams had an entirely different tone to them (usually involving me wanting to do something fun or desirable but being stymied by various annoying circumstances).

I haven’t had it in a long time, but lately I’ve been worrying about a bunch of certification stuff I have to do for work this year (and that I put off all last year because I’m a filthy, dirty procrastinator. If I don’t get it done, I don’t have a job anymore, so it’s not something that can be put off any longer.

It’s a fairly standard setup. It takes place in ‘present day,’ but it turns out that I had just one more college course that I needed to finish up my degree. Only I didn’t do any of the work! And there’s there’s not enough time left to do what I need to do, but there’s likewise plenty of time to worry over it and make a failed attempt. It’s incredibly stressful and I always wake up feeling like I’ve gotten no rest.

Do any of you guys have regular anxiety dreams like this?

I’ve heard having bad dreams about forgetting to do college work after college is normal, and I’ve had that. My college dream is one where I realize I have a final in a day for a class but I’ve never gone to any classes, never turned in homework and now I have to learn an entire semester of material in one day.

It doesn’t seem related to my day to day anxiety though.

I haven’t remembered my dreams in ages, but back when I did I recall a similar one I had repeatedly. It was set in the present day like yours, and I’d suddenly “realize” that I was supposed to have been in high school all these years, and had to go to class now, and make up for all those years I wasn’t in attendance.

I graduated college twenty years ago and until recently I still had the exact dream you described.