Unusual tips you've received for doing service jobs

I’m an Uber driver and I drove a guy to the airport yesterday. He gave me a large unopened bottled water, and a large – folding knife. Since he couldn’t take either on to the plane, I’m still not sure whether he considered these tips, or considered me a convenient trash receptacle.

On Saturday a young woman, a voice student at UW, sang me an aria in the car at the urging of her friend, because they didn’t have tip money. I don’t like opera and her voice cracked because she wasn’t properly warmed up, but I thanked her anyway. (I didn’t recognize what she sang.)

Have you gotten any strange tips?

Nope.

(but didn’t want to leave Jim all alone here…)

Years ago I was hired to clean a garage full of junk. Besides the pay, I hauled off a lot of scrap metal I sold. I also found 3 bottles of cheap whiskey the old guy had probably stashed and forgot about. I tried a little bit, it wasn’t too bad. Gave two bottles to a couple homeless guys, made their day.

Bit off topic, but are we expected to tip the Uber driver? I thought the gratuity was folded into the charge?

I use Uber all the time and am now wondering if I’ve been an asshole.

No, you are not expected to tip the Uber driver. We are instructed to tell people that tips are not necessary, and I do tell them that. I wish I’d been a little more emphatic about it before the woman started screeching out the arie. But I don’t decline it if the offer is repeated, and our instructions say that’s ok too.

Lyft is a different ballgame. Although we’re not supposed to ask for it, and I don’t, tips are encouraged. There is even a way to add a tip into the credit card charge for the ride.

The oddity is that Lyft pays drivers more than Uber does, at least here in Madison, AND they encourage tipping.

You consider those things tips?