US pays Afghanistan shooting victims. How is this done?

So the victims from the recent shooting rampage in Afghanistan received $50k compensation. When you are dealing with rural villagers in a country like Afghanistan, how to you just compensate them? I would think cash would just make them a target for theft. There doesn’t seem to be a functional consumer baking system there, so it’s not like you can put the money in a bank account for them. So how exactly are these people compensated?

I have no first hand knowledge of how this particular case will be handled, but I have moved millions of dollars around Afghanistan. There are in fact banks in Afghanistan and I suspect that bank accounts will be created for them at the nearest hub, they will likely be brought in to a meeting with local elders, government of Afghanistan representatitves, and representatives of the US government who will explain the terms to them and how to access their money.

You are correct that such a large sum will put the family at increased risk of kiddnapping, extortion and exploitation.

They could always hire Blackwater.

They will likely pay protection money to the local taliban.

ETA: That’s not snark, that’s probably what they will have to do.

One of my additional duties in Afganistan was paying agent. I’ve seen larger transactions in cash. If bank accounts were created, I doubt there was any electronic funds transfer. The recipients would have to deposit their cash. It is possible that arrangements were made for security during transportation to the bank. But I would bet that actual cash was handed to the families at the governor’s office.

That is possible, but it is not unheard of for an Afghan farmer, small business man, or construction contractor to have a bank account. We disperse a lot of money for infrastructure projects in rural communities and it is not unknown for them to have a bank account available, but I have also seen wads of cash being handed over.