Vacant Land in the Bahamas

I want to get rid of a parcel of vacant land in the Bahamas. I’ve been paying property taxes on it for decades, and it’s just not worth it to continue. The last realtor I contacted said it would cost me more than the land’s value to sell it.

Does anyone know how I can give it away? :mad:

If I stop paying the taxes, what are the consequences?

This didn’t answer your question about stopping taxes, but it may be useful. It seems that there is a good deal of vacant land going cheap there.

http://www.maynardlaw.com/documents/real_estate_law_in_the_bahamas.htm

I am not a lawyer etc. But I imagine that unless you have other assets in the Bahamas then the government will eventually just seize the land for lack of payment.

This thread sent me on an interesting diversion from work into real estate in the bahamas. there is some nice stuff available! might not like the living costs though. everything is near some luxury resort or spa or golf course (or all three)

on your question, I’d be seriously questioning the agents advice you’ve gotten so far. i read a few pages, and it seems whilst the transaction costs are high, they are mostly graduated on a percentage basis. So unless all agents enforce strict minimums then I can’t see how it will cost you more to sell than its worth, unless its actually worth next-to-nothing. some info:

http://bahamasrealestate.com/sales-service/purchasing-and-ownership-costs

so you’ve been paying land tax for years, what is the valuation of the property and how accurate is that to market? Most jurisdictions will have valuations that are typically slightly conservative relative to actual market - but particularly bad market conditions may mean official valuations are lagging with respect to market movement or are being artificially propped to protect gov’t income or ‘reputation’. Not sure if Bahamas is in that category generally, or your parcel of land specifically?