Victim of sexual assault will NOT testify. What does that do to the case?

I am a lawyer, but have never practiced criminal law. My exposure to criminal law is therefore limited to the standard first year class, a police procedures class I took because the professor was cool and lots of Law and Order. I found myself in an argument with a relative (a vice-detective and notorious bullshitter) about a sexual assault case. The relevant facts and my questions are as follows:

Facts (and some commentary):
Defendant is videotaped in what appears to be a sexual assault as defined by state law (in other words, one can conclude from the tape that the necessary elements are their - the appropriate touching, unwelcomeness, etc). There are multiple witnesses to the actual assault and the “cameraman” is available to authenticate the tape. Let’s assume the cops can also verify the tape’s chain of custody. In other words, the tape gets in, and the witnesses can be subpoenaed for trial (we’ll assume for the sake of this that the witnesses will all cooperate and to the extent necessary, cut the appropriate deals). The victim refuses to testify. So we’ve got the tape and we’ve got eyewitnesses (but not the victim), and with the evidence, a reasonable jury might conclude that the Defendant sexually assaulted the victim.

Here’s the “supposed” rub (according to the bullshitter, vice-detective relative).
According to the BVDR, because of “victims rights” and “rape shield laws”*, the D.A. cannot (not “will not,” cannot) prosecute. I called bullshit. BVDR said it also had to do with the Confrontation Clause (didn’t use the term but this is what was being referenced). I, of course, replied that the Confrontation Clause simply means an accused can confront the witnesses against him (the folks subpoenaed, the cameraman, etc.). I explained that if every accused had the right to confront the victim, we’d never have a murder trial.

We adjourned to supper and agreed to drop the conversation.