Video encoding questions

Tried looking this up myself, but suffered quickly from information overload. Perhaps somone here is a video-guru?

I wish to compare these formats, in terms of best quality at the smallest filesize, with video having a priority over audio. I have never even heard of some of these!

3gp, .mp4, .amr, .rm, .ram, .ra and .rv

I would also like to know of some good, free tools for encoding into these formats, or rather into the format that “wins”, I have tried the programs on Reals site for the rm etc, but their demo has so many features missing that it becomes pointless.

I wouldn’t know how to compare them but you can find programs that use them at download.com if you have a PC… that site has shareware/freeware & updates of just about anything.

I would avoid the Real Audio format like the plague and stick with MPEG or DivX as the most widesppread.

^^^ What he said.

First off, I’m no video expert, but I’ve dabbled enough to know that your question isn’t directly answerable.

It is kinds like asking, “What race car is the fastest”, in that the answer really depends on the racing conditions. Is this a quarter mile down a dragstrip, around a two mile oval, through a road course, or across sand dunes? The answer really depends on what you want to do with it.

Even more generally, the relationship between file size and quality is direct, but the file format is less relevent.

I was not familiar with all the file formats you listed. Some quick research tells me that some are very specialized. For example, 3GP appears to be related to mobile phone services, particularly on GPRS networks. AMR is an audio codec format for digital speech. Except for MP4, all the others are RealMedia formats (realaudio, realvideo, realmedia).

All the Real formats are designed for streaming. Generally, these aren’t the high quality options - unless you are planning to stream.