Volunteering Abroad: What is a good organization?

I’m a teacher and am interested in spending my summer months volunteering overseas in a charity program of some sort. Has anyone here done this and with what organization? I’m fairly flexible in where I want to go, though I’m thinking either South America or Africa. I was looking at Cross Cultural Solutions as it looks like they are very flexible, and they are non religous. http://www.crossculturalsolutions.org/the_ccs_experience/our_approach/default.asp?siteID=google_volunteer_overseas&gclid=CO2n_aXj3okCFSWIYAodKwVqFw

Any other options or ideas? I’d probably want to go for 4-6 weeks.

I don’t have any answers for you, but after reviewing the web page you linked, I gotta ask - are the fees they charge normal for “volunteering”? Roughly speaking, they want $1500 for the first week and $1000/week for the next, then it goes down to ~$300/week. That does not include airfare, but does include room and board.

That seems a pretty penny for the privilege of volunteering. Am I just out of touch?

Look at the book Volunteer Vacations. You might find something there. In addition, typing “Volunteer Vacations” into Amazon’s search bar on the main page yields several more books of this ilk.

I’m not sure, but I think for many programs paying around this much is a standard. They provide room and board, medical insurance, clean water, and so forth. As well the money goes towards helping their programs survive. A friend of mine is considering a volunteer vacation as well and he told me lots of programs charge this much.