Was George Washington the richest man in the colonies?

A college student who is studying history told me that at the time he was made President, George Washington was the richest man in the colonies that became the United States. Is there any truth to this? If so, how did he make his money?

No. Washington did well enough, but there were many others who were much richer.

Amongf the Founding Fathers, John Hancock and Gouvernor Morris were richer. The Lee family was in his ballpark. IIRC, Martha Washington was from bigger money than George.

He inherited Mt. Vernon, and made some money in land speculation. He was clearly not rich enough to avoid working in his youth. Your “college student” was a loon. I studied history in college, and never remember reading anything that remotely suggested Washington was rich, much less the richest man in the colonies. I’m pretty sure that I knew before I entered college that John Hancock was quite wealthy.

If he was married to Martha at the time he was made President was he extremely wealthy at the time?

Bill Gates wasn’t in the Forbes 400 in his youth. That didn’t preclude him from becoming incredibley rich. What was GW’s wealth status when he became president? Please don’t characterize someone as a “loon” without some supporting documentation. The whole point being that American history may have been written without acknowleging the fact that the early American government was controlled by plutocrats. That doesn’t mean that they didn’t have ideals but there was probably a lot less meritocricy than the traditional history books would lead you to believe.

Define extremely wealthy! With his wife’s money and his own business and agricultural acumen, he developed Mount Vernon into a profitable and successful venture. I don’t have exact numbers for anyone in that era, but I would be very surprised if he was in the top 50 most wealthy people in the country.