web development/marketing agency question

Hey guys,

I am new to a firm that has a small digital office where I have a dual role as a project manager / graphic designer.

I have been noticing so far that the Account Execs have been bombarding the development team with emails, most of which contain bugs they have found, requests for additional functionality, etc.

I am just wondering if email is really the most appropriate medium for this information? It seems that it takes myself and my team away from the work we have to get done more than it should.

Would something like an issue/bug tracker, where stakeholders can spot issues, bugs, and requests additional functionality be a good idea? What are some other ideas?

I have also seen project management software that lets stakeholders comment within a project, instead of email.

Thank you

I work in this field, and email is a horrible medium for this.

We use a bug tracker. It’s great for the purposes you mention - it allows categorisation of issues, categorisation of severity, summary of issues. The reports it generates allow us to set policy in terms of prioritisation, and to track the progress of issue correction, and provide a framework for post-implementation project management.

There are plenty of open source versions out there. http://www.bugzilla.org/ is the most well-known, though not necessarily the best.

ETA: it can also generate emails targeted at the relevant person, when a bug is raised, etc.

Pivotal labs makes the pivotal tracker. Its free and used for Agile development, but it might work for something like this - I think of agency work as being inherently Agile.

No no no, you DON’T want to track that sort of info in email. Heaven help.