Weird electrical breaker occurrence

A year or so ago, the breaker for the outlet in my bathroom tripped, and resetting it wouldn’t work – it would immediately go back to neutral or open. I tried multiple times for a few days to reset it and it never worked. Since we didn’t use that outlet much, we didn’t get around to fixing it. Today, I finally resolved to try and fix it. Just for the hell of it, I tried to reset the breaker. It reset fine. I plugged something in. It worked fine, and still appears to be working.

What could have caused that? I’m no electrician, but I thought that when a breaker wouldn’t reset, even after a while, then that meant there was a bad connection or component somewhere.

IANAE, but it occurs to me that breakers can fail. I’ve had it happen.

Sure, but how could it spontaneously fix itself?

When I was redoing a bathroom, I found out that the outlet in the bathroom was on a different breaker than the switch right next to it. And that there was something else downline from the outlet on the same breaker. Could yours be like that, and you had something plugged into another outlet that was on the same breaker back then, and now you don’t?

Could I test this without tearing anything up?

Just spitballing, but how good is your wiring? Could there have been a leak or puddle somewhere that was shorting out an old wire, and it dried up after a few days?

That’s possible, but it sounds like the kind of thing I can never know for sure. I live on the first floor of a condo building that’s about 30 years old, but by my non-expert opinion, in good shape.

Probably, but I would rather one of the electricians on this board help you. I got a nice shock because of it when I was testing :slight_smile: