What age to start makeup?

I am a teacher and I teach 4th and 5th grade students. There are 120 different students rotating through my room every day. Every once in a while I will look up and not recognize one or two of my 10-11 year old female students. Mainly cause they have so much makeup on that they appear almost clown like.

Is there an appropriate age to start wearing makeup? ( I have two boys at home so I wouldn’t know.) At what age did any of you beautiful ladies on this board start wearing makeup ( not that any of you even need it) :stuck_out_tongue:

And oh hell, any men on this board that wear makeup can answer this too. :slight_smile:

One of the few to be personally welcomed to this board by Ed Zotti.

Yours truly,
aha

My dad made me wait until I was 13 and then I was limited as to how much. As time progressed I was allowed more, although I have not been one to wear a lot of makeup anyway. The one thing that my dad hated was lipstick. He could tolerate the rest, a little lip color was ok, but no dark colors such as red.

** Sigh. So many men, so few who can afford me ** Original by Wally

I’ve learned that if someone says something unkind about me, I must live so that no one will believe it.

Homepage: www.superlativeandsassy.com
Interests: surpluses, excesses, abundances, extras, lagniappes
profile by UncleBeer

Um, I take it you don’t have daughters? :smiley:

We told our girls, “The reason a girl wears makeup is so that she can attract a mate. When you’re mature enough to need to attract a mate, then you can wear makeup.” Other than telling them, “You’ve got too much on,” we try not to make a big deal out of it.

Some parents make a purely arbitrary deadline, like 9th grade or age 13. In my experience this nearly always leads to the kid going way overboard when she finally does have permission to wear makeup, especially since those years are deuced tricky to navigate anyway.