What are some good business-beginner jobs for someone with an MBA to apply for?

I’m unemployed but will have my MBA about half a year from now.

I have no business experience to speak of - never worked that stuff before. My entire 12-year career up to this point was spent working at a university. What are some good business-beginner jobs for someone like that?

What, if anything, did you focus on in your MBA coursework? Is it just a general business degree, or is it in marketing, finance, etc? The answer to your question will vary, depending on what your focus has been.

Similarly, what sort of business or business-like experience did you have in your university job (which, if I remember from another of your posts, was at a for-profit university)?

And, finally, what was your impetus to get an MBA, in the first place? Was it to further your career opportunities at your now-former employer?

Yes, it was a for-profit online university, but it was just administrative clerical-type work. Examining tens of thousands of transcripts and certificates.

The MBA coursework was very general and bland, no particular concentration. Boilerplate-101 stuff. Cultural issues in management, business law and ethics, human resource management, corporate finance, marketing, etc.

My original impetus to get the MBA was because my former-employer gave free tuition as a benefit for all full-time employees. So I went for 2 free master’s. First one was in military studies, second was the MBA (since the MBA seemed like one of the more hire-able degrees despite also being extremely common.) Since I am now unemployed, I have to pay the remaining few MBA courses out of pocket, but it’s not much.

My experience is largely in marketing, and so, it may not be applicable to every business, nor in every industry.