What can (should) one do with old gasoline?

Anyone who’s been following my life diligently knows the elderly couple who sold us this house left behind a lot of stuff. (like 14 garbage cans, among other things) We took advantage of a free afternoon and decided to clean and organize one of the two sheds - the one into which we just crammed a bunch of our stuff when we moved here. Among the good stuff and old crap that was uncovered in that shed were 7 cans of 87 octane gasoline of possibly indeterminant age.

I’m assuming they’re all 87 octane because there are pieces of tape on each can stating it contains 87 octane gas. Some also state where it was purchased (Wawa) and what it cost (1.36) and some are dated (the oldest being 1998) :eek: :eek: :eek:

We took all the cans out of the shed and parked them under the overhang of the garden shed. I’m not an expert, but I’m of the understanding that gasoline changes as it ages, and that dumping this gas in the mowers or the car would be a bad thing. I’ve heard suggestions that if you mix a small amount of old gas with a lot of new gas, it will work just find.

So, I pose these questions:

Can this gas be used? If so, how? If not, how does one dispose of approx 15 gallons of the stuff safely and environmentally?

Ive heard and a 6:1 ratio (new:old) is the way to use it up.

The problem with this theory is this: Who wants to dump Really Old Gas, diluted or no, into their $35,000 (or $65,000) car, minivan or SUV? Why ask for trouble when other disposal methods pose no risk–even if low–to your vehicle? And if you’re going to use it up in, say, a lawnmower at your specified dilution rate, we’re talking a 5-10 year supply.

My solution: Hollywood flash pot. Don’t forget the video camera. :wink:

Keep it on hand and think of it as starter fluid for the fire pit you haven’t built yet…

One hell of a bonfire party comes to mind.

You can use it to get rid of those pesky tires that have been acumulating in the backyard.