What Can YOU Offer the New World?

OK, I guess this is sort of a game. I was thinking about it on the bus this morning, and slowly worked myself into a weeping depressive state which resulted in the rapid consumption of Low Fat Twinkies.

Let’s say the world is going to hell in a handbasket:

*Everyone: THE WORLD IS GOING TO HELL IN A HANDBASKET *

And we all have to send in applications to get on the Great SpaceCoaster to the new planet we’ll be living on.

The final question on the application is:

What can you offer the new world?

As I thought about this on the bus I was sure that I would be rejected, but here’s what I can do:

I’m a very swell cook (I’ve been told)

My gynecologist says I have a mobile uterus, ideal for childbearing

I can build good fires.

I mean, yikes, people. I’m worthless! All of my talents are in unecessary areas, acting, writing, a firm grasp of the history and philosophy of BDSM…

Anthracite would be constructing freaking power plants the minute we landed and I’d be baking bread.

So anyway…what do YOU think would get you on the Spaceship?

jarbaby

Hmmm…I’m not a bad writer. I’ve got a first-rate education in history of world religions and international affairs. I once grew herbs on my windowsill, but they died. I’m a clumsy amateur guitar player…I’m really good at finding hidden gems in used book stores…I can sing? I can sort of build stuff with wood, if my dad helps me.

Yep, pretty fucking useless. At least I’ve got viable ovaries and a “childbearing” body, so I might get included as a “breeder”, a la The Handmaid’s Tale.

nolite bastardes te carbonundrum or whatever.

Hey, nothin’ wrong with being a breeder as long as we get impregnated the ol’ fashioned way… grwwooowwwl!

jarbaby

I know ALL the words to American Pie. And songs by the Pixies.

I make things work. Mostly non-physical things, but lots of skill overlap.

Plus, I’m young, healthy, and quite willing to help increase the population.