What do you mean, INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING RATE?

Okay. That’s twice in one week, you losers. I’ve been putting up with this on and off for the last 15 years, and I am now totally and completely disgusted.

I am a resident of the state of New Mexico. For the second time this week, when trying to make a purchase of a computer accessory from a company on the east coast (this time it was New Jersey) I am informed by the sales person that they will have to charge me the international shipping rate to get my part to me. International Shipping Rate?!? Why?
New Mexico, last I checked, is one of the 50 states of the United States. We’re the 47th state. We’ve been a state since 1912. We’re located in that (apparent) hole in the U.S. map between Colorado, Arizona, Texas, and Oklahoma.