what ever happened to the Supercollidor

I know it was scraped…but what about the technology that was supposed to go with it?

Do not bring this subject up in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.
Peace,
mangeorge

“So I said, supercollidor? I just met her.
and then they built a supercollidor. Thank you”

I am in DFW.

well i think they have built/are building one or more somewhere in other parts of the world…

right now its a big hole in the ground!

The technology is still out there. Scattered. Here’s one example:

Super Silicon CCDs Developed at Berkeley Lab

WTF??

Perhaps because Texans were excited about “getting” the Superconducting Supercollider. I remember when other areas were still being considered, the scientific community in each area was agog over who would recieve the honor.

Um, and surely it was “scrapped”?

I was a physics student at Texas A&M when the funding for the Superconducting SuperCollider was cut. A lot of my profs were involved with Fermilab and Cern and they were very eagerly looking forward to the SSC. After it was announced that it was cancelled, they were shellshocked. It was a huge blow. For weeks they had an expression on their face like their best friend just died.

The big-ass cyclotron (particle accellerator) that was being built in Texas, until Regan or Bush (whoever) cancelled it.
The scientific community and the contractors were mightily pissed. Lost a lot of jobs. Or maybe I’m thinking of something else? That’s not the SSC?
That’s what the fuck is, Q.E.D. :wink:

Ah, well…that answers that. :smiley:

King George I used his political clout to get it located in Texas. Congress pulled the plug on the funding. :frowning: